Sunday, May 24, 2009

Aucan - Brotes del Alba (1980)

AUCÁN are a late 70’s band from Argentina who blend symphonic rock with folk and classical influences. The original line-up was an all-family affair consisting of the four Perez brothers: Eugenio and Miguel both handling vocals and guitar, assisted by younger brothers Diego on drums and Pablo on bass, keyboards and vocals. They released two albums in 1977 and 1980 and then split up.
Both the eponymous first release and the better-known “Brotes Del Alba” are made up of smooth, well-structured melodies with frequent folk incursions, lots of acoustic instrumentation and elegant guitar passages. Perhaps on account of the more prominent keyboards, the second album is slightly more symphonic and features several guest musicians who bring the band’s sound up a notch with their use of cello, mini-moog, oboe, English horn, harmonica and baroque flute among other instruments. Lyrics are sung in Spanish. Nothing groundbreaking here but well executed overall.

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Llegando A Casa (3:35)
2. Primavera De Una Esquina (6:45)
3. Cancion De Mi Padre (3:40)
4. Hacia El Destierro (5:10)
5. Tres De Octubre (6:40)
6. Mi Amor Y Yo Contra Todos Los Que Rayen (3:15)
7. Misterio Azul (6:45)

No comments:

Post a Comment